December 15, 2009

  • The Order Doesn’t Matter…

    Or At Least, I Hope Not…

    What can I say?
    Life is wonderfully zany :)

    Saturday was our three month anniversary… And since I haven’t blogged
    Engagement, Wedding, Honeymoon, or Celebration photos; I figured it’s
    high time I finally do at least one of those ;)

    So, like I said… Why not go out of order?


    Our Honeymoon:

    It all began on Sunday, September 13th… We rushed out of my family’s resort
    (http://ChaletSuzanne.com) already a little rushed to make our flight… Only to
    discover that our getaway car had a dead battery!!

    A quick jumpstart and the fastest airport trip EVER (Literally; we made it in about
    half the time it should take… While barely speeding!) we arrived at the Orlando airport
    and picked up our tickets… At which point, my beloved Bride learned where we were
    going :)

    Maine!

    I’d spent months and months researching places we could go; and it all
    came down to either a small Cay in the Bahamas, or the Grand Old State
    of Maine. In the end, we opted for Maine since it’d be COOL (and far
    less likely to be in the path of a Hurricane ;)

    Man oh man, were we ever glad we went!!

    See? ;)

    Truly though, Maine was perfect… We went to four breweries, two forts, and
    spent LOTS of time exploring.

    See, when we landed in Portland, we went to pick up our rental car and they gave us
    a choice… A bland ol’ Chevrolet, or the Toyota Prius Hybrid… To be blunt, I’ve always
    harassed the Prius and their fleet of predominantly slow, boring drivers ;)

    But on the roads of Maine? The Prius was a blast!!
    We drove over 800 miles on $38 in fuel (58mpg+!) and I was even able to test
    the “crazy” factor… Got it up on three wheels a few times, and brought the fuel
    burn down to 4mpg… Haha TOO much fun!

    Of all the Coastal villages we visited in Maine, we liked Bucksport the very best.

    It was beautiful, quiet, and wonderfully devoid of the plethora of tourists that are
    EVERYWHERE else in Maine.


    Bucksport, ME

    See that bright white building in the middle?
    That’s a quaint old Bed And Breakfast that was recently bought out by
    Best Western… Know what that means? Beautiful, quaint rooms with ugly
    comforters, windows that open wide, and clean surroundings… Perfect!!

    We stayed there for 3 days, and loved EVERY minute… See,  Bucksport
    is unique in the fact that they have quite a few REALLY cool little things.
    First among them, is “Fort Knox” — No, not the one you’re thinking of,
    but the ORIGINAL Fort Knox from the early 1800s.

    We visited :)


    See it Larger…

    It was truly a cool, and unique place :)

    Though admittedly, my attention was elsewhere :)

    Bucksport is also the home of Maine’s fastest elevator…
    Which takes you here:

    To the top of their gorgeous bridge observatory…
    The view rocked :)


    B&W = Love.

    One thing we may not have mentioned… The REASON there aren’t a lot
    of tourists in Bucksport… Simple.. There’s a “small” paper mill there:

    But the view from our hotel could make up for anything:

    And here’s our view of Fort Knox…

    The clouds were just Oh SO Amazing.
    After three days in Bucksport we were ready to take off for the North…
    Bar Harbor was our next stop; but before we’d arrive there, we just HAD
    to stop by our second brewery of the trip… “Atlantic Brewing Company”
    t’was AWESOME :D


    Nelle agreed :)

    Then, suddenly we were in Bangor:

    I stopped in and bought some *great* old books :)

    The next day, we headed South, back to Portland…
    And to our 3rd brewery of the trip “Shipyard Brewing”

    The last day of our trip, our flight didn’t leave ’til the late afternoon so
    we took off on a lighthouse / Fort hunting trip…

    It was successful! :D


    Shipwreck!

    Nelle and I decided we needed to snap some more photos of the two of US.
    I think I’m getting better at the whole self portrait thing:

    :)

    An amazing old building on the Fort’s grounds…
    It was used as an Officer Quarters in the late 19th Century.

    And as a silly finale for this post…
    Here’s the Greatest Graffiti of ALL Time:

    That’s all for now :)
    MANY, MANY more posts to come!!




    P.S. Do me a favor?
    Leave a comment to motivate me to  post more!
    Which was your favorite photo??

Comments (17)

  • Congratulations!!! What a fun and creative trip! Love the photos and your wife is beautiful! :)

  • I try to comment when I come admire… really I do! Mostly I want to say How did he DO that! lol

    I love black and white, but I am really digging your color…  My favorite would have to be the color shot of Fort Knox with the clouds and that patch of green…  but the portraits are GREAT you two make such a handsome couple! Congratulations by the way!  I am like the DOF on the flower too… It looks like they are on two different plains.

    Yes, do… post more!

  • Hey you!  Good to see you and your bride.  My fav is the B&W lighthouse.  Yeah, kinda classic.  Also love the view from the observatory in color, and the portraits!  

  • Maine is such a beautiful state!!!  I love the shot from the bridge elevator, and the one after it, but I think my favorite is the lighthouse!  Good to see you posting here — would love to see the rest of the series (wedding and celebration)!  Merry Christmas to you both…

  • congrats and thanks for sharing these pictures!

    how do you set your camera if it’s manual mode to get the correct exposure…or is your camera on the “P mode” for the self-portraits?

  • I liked the 2nd photo the best, followed by the Ditch and the views from the bridge.  Congratulations!

  • Are you kidding me! Is that all there is? I WANT MORE!!!

  • I like the “Ditch” photo
    and of course teh lovely one of Nelle at the brewery

  • p.s. the view of Fort Knox needs cropping from the left and top to be EPIC in my opinion

  • These were great to look at…I can not choose only one…the first of you and Nellie is super and I love the lighthouse one..I am partial to them……

  • oh my gosh…..your pictures are beyond amazing! haha. they are so cool and gorgeous! I LOVE the one “and here’s our view of fort knox…” SO beautiful! and by the way…your wife is so pretty! I missed the blog from August about your wedding invitation so I didn’t know you guys got married but congratulations! even though I’m slightly late

    also…your photography skills are SO SO SO amazing…you do such a good a job capturing things!

    and, I hope you and your wife are enjoying your marriage! and hope you two have a great holiday season.

  • and yes!!! post more blog entries! haha. I love your photographs so much!

  • Good to hear from you, bro.  Let’s see if I can’t get the rest of your wedding photos online by christmas?

    BTW, you REALLY need to let someone brand your blog. 

    =Matt=

  • First off, Congrats on your marriage. You got married the same week I did. We had our honeymoon in Northern, Ireland and the photography opportunities were to die for. The scenery was so breath-taking. You can see some of our pictures on my Facebook. Anywho… my favorite picture would be a toss up between the “ditch” picture and the one of the lighthouse. One is too funny, the other is just a great shot. However, I love your hat in the last one of you and Nelle. Reminds me of Ireland and my hubby who bought an original Northern Ireland Sheepskin hat similar to that. :D

  • congratulations!  and more, please!

    i’ve wanted to go to maine for a while now.  i have some good friends who have been there recently, and if your photos don’t sell it, i don’t know what would.  :)

  • Like the one you two by the shore. Great!

    Keep posting more, love the photos you took and the places you’ve been to :)

  • Amazing photographs and it sounds like you guys had an amazing time! Way exciting! :) )
    I can’t believe you’re making us pick a fav picture but, since you said so, mine was/were: the first one of you guys, the last one of you guys, “your view of Fort Knox”, and the lovely little white flowers. [a thousand poxes on me for not knowing what kind they are.]
    So post again!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *