December 30, 2009

  • Our Celebration… aka:

    Never Do Too Much At Once….

    When we were making our wedding plans, it was SUCH a flurry of decisions.
    We wanted a short engagement, but we weren’t expecting to end up with just
    3 months!!

    Everything we’d planned suddenly was pushed forward. We’d look at wedding
    magazines and they kept insisting that the things we were just considering should
    have been done 18 months out… It was nuts!

    But, we got it all together; primarily by deciding to separate our wedding ceremony,
    and our reception; by a week.

    See, we REALLY wanted to enjoy them both, but we knew that if we tried to
    do too much on the day of, all we’d want to do was get away to the honeymoon!
    So we split them up… And boy-oh-boy are we glad we did

    I’ll blog images from our wedding as soon as I’m able, but for now; let me share
    a few from our fabulous celebration.

    Here’s Riley:

    Just as my friend Matthew Saville was flown in to photograph our
    wedding, Riley Spiller flew in for the Celebration.

    It’s really quite special… See, Matt taught me how to take perfect
    photos TECHNICALLY; Riley taught me how to capture moments
    in the fashion world, and then I convinced both of them to come
    capture OUR moments :D

    We had a blast :)

    Nelle and I arrived from our honeymoon, directly into the waiting party.
    It was oh so exciting… Just ask Nelle!

    The best part of the Celebration (for me) though, was that I actually
    got to shoot a LOT of it.

    Many of the next photos are mine :)

    There were many fantastic conversations:

    We also had simply the BEST helpers in the world:

    The Matron of our family (My Grandmother, Vita Hinshaw)
    was looking lovely as always:

    If you’re wondering just what the heck that pink is in the background;
    it’s one of the main buildings of the Chalet Suzanne…  Founded by my
    Great-Grandmother in 1931, it’s where I was born and raised.

    Some of these photos were taken by my new sister-in-law’s boyfriend
    Michael Flores; he’s a real up and comer, and has been growing by
    leaps and bounds under my tutelage.

    Above is my little brother James… One of my favorite people in the world.
    (He is SO friggin’ cool)

    A few more of Nelle and I…

    Laughing at something… Or someone ;)

    As it grew later, sunlight and perfect diffusion gave way to flashes
    and moonlight… Oh, and the party began :)

    Just in from Scotland, where he’s been studying for his Doctorate;
    here’s Robert… My brother-in-law, and his wife Katie… They were cutting it up!

    In attempting to do something a bit different; we gave
    away the flowers as favors… And apparently it went quite well!
    We heard lots of reports from folks that said they lasted over a month :D

    One more thing we did to be a bit different…
    Here comes the toss!!

    I told you it was a bit different ;)

    We’d assembled 12 roses… 6 loose, and 6 together.
    That way, MORE WINNERS ;)

    Amazingly (and unplanned) Alexandra my little brother Joseph’s
    (then) girlfriend caught them… And as of LAST NIGHT, they’re
    engaged as well!!

    And THEN the party really got moving :)

    Taking a breather with my older sis…

    LOTS of old friends came to join in the fun…
    Here’s a rare moment that Cody wasn’t dancing like a madman:

    Two of my favorite people of all time… Riley and Emily.

    And here’s the PERFECT picture that explains the three
    way relationship between Nelle, myself, and her darling sister Emilie.
    These girls are pretty much the uber-awesome; I’m so blessed to have them in my life.

    My awesome sisters…

    And the new sis, once again:

    All in all, an amazing night… With loads of incredible moments:

    My Dad Rocks :)

    Many thanks to each of you that read this far; many, MANY thanks
    once again to all of you who made this possible.

    I’m so in love with ALL of you, and so HONORED to have you in my life.
    I can’t wait to share each of our next chapters :)

    Saturday, my darling wife and I are heading off for another adventure…
    This time, a cross country road trip to California to capture another couple’s
    perfect wedding day.

    screen-capture

    Keep us in your prayers; and let us know if we can do
    anything to bless your life!

Comments (9)

  • Great to see the celebration.  Wonderful !  Keep those posts coming! 

  • u got it man!  hit me up too with everyone when ur about here!  i love the bouqet toss, winner winners!!!  I too also thought about shooting as well during my wedding hahahaha if it ever happens =P  thanks for all the advice you too have given me in life.  btw ur new sista is cute!!!  ::wink::wink::

  • oh, you’re the same person from the blue shoe photography facebook group! i didn’t know until i saw this on facebook!

  • congrats! beautiful wife and pics – and looks like a great time!

  • That was so much fun to see!  You have a beautiful family.  I’m hoping for a good trip for you and your bride across the country.  Peace

  • eric! long time no see! i’ve been absent from xanga forEVER and how happy i was to return today to see this lovely post on your beautiful wedding. congratulations!!! may God bless you both and may you enjoy a lifetime of love and happiness together.

  • Loved seeing your reception…each photo captures so much of the energy and love.
    And all the details! Luv the flower toss idea and the fans to help cool off from dancing

  • Wow…those pictures look like they came out of a movie!!

    Amazing Pictures!!

    You’re going to Santa Barbara?

    I live in San Francisco…about 6hrs from there.

    You are going on some insane road trip.

    What’s your lens collection?

  • Nice shots and congrats!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *